Just Keep Swimming…

Hi guys, Pol here today and I’m so excited to be here with my first scrapbook page for Thompson’s Crafts!

I’ve created a simple layout to start with, using the Echo Park Under The Sea collection. I love this collection, it’s fun and cheerful, and perfect for Jake, my little water baby! I chose this photo of him proudly showing his latest swimming award.

IMG_4147

I wanted to create a watery, under-the-sea feel to my page, so I chose this lovely blue fishy background paper. I then used the packaging technique; this is where you spray your ink spray onto a scrunched up plastic bag or the like. Add a spray or two of water to dilute the colour to your preference, and squish the plastic onto your paper or cardstock. Be aware though that the more water and ink you use, the more likely your background is to get warped and wrinkly. I try to just do a couple of sprays and lightly squish the plastic onto my cardstock. If I feel more colour is needed I can gradually build it up this way.

IMG_4148.JPG

Next, I cut a few strips from the borders page and adhered them to the top and bottom of my paper using adhesive tape. I ripped the edges to give the effect of waves, and I gently curled them over in various places. I then tucked my photo and title card behind the bottom ripped edge like treasure peeking out of the bottom of the sea.

IMG_4149.JPG

I added a nautical flair badge with striped twine wound around it, and then it was time to decorate my page with stickers to really finish off the under the sea effect. I stuck them to my page using 3D decoupage glue – this is my absolute must-have in scrapbooking. I tend to use it more than 3D foam pads as it means my embellishments are movable until it dries. I deliberately kept my layout simple and clean as it’s my first post, those of you who are familiar with my work will know this is quite unusual for me! But I’ll break you into my ‘busier’ layouts gently!

IMG_4150.JPG

The title card I chose ‘Just Keep Swimming’ was perfect for my little guy, considering that when he started swimming lessons 9 months ago, he couldn’t swim at all and hated putting his face in the water. Now he’s a regular little water baby who will swim underwater and dive in at any chance he gets!

Thanks for reading guys, I’ll be back soon with another layout using this cute, fun collection. Bye till then!

Leave a Reply

